Western Bulldogs

The Western Bulldogs (formerly the Footscray Football Club is a professional Australian rules football club that competes in the Australian Football League (AFL), the sport’s premier competition. Founded in 1877 in Footscray, an inner-western suburb of Melbourne, the club won nine premierships in the Victorian Football Association (VFA) before gaining entry to the Victorian Football League (since renamed the AFL) in 1925. The club has won two VFL/AFL premierships, in 1954 and 2016, and was runner up in 1961. It has also claimed one premiership in the AFL Women’s competition, in 2018, having been a foundation member of the league the previous year.