Super Rugby

Super Rugby is a professional men’s rugby union international club competition involving teams from Argentina, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. Building on various Southern Hemisphere competitions dating back to the South Pacific Championship in 1986, with teams from a number of southern nations, the Super Rugby started as the Super 12 in the 1996 season with 12 teams from 3 nations: Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. The Super 12 was established by SANZAAR after the sport became professional in 1995. With the top players from nations that represent 16 of the 24 top-three finishes in the history of the Rugby World Cup, the competition is widely regarded as rugby union’s toughest provincial competition

'Green light' for Super Rugby Aupiki

The country’s leading women players will set the rugby landscape alight in 2022 with the inaugural season of Super Rugby Aupiki. The Blues, Chiefs and Hurricanes, as well as a combined South Island team to be governed by the Crusaders and encompassing the Crusaders and Highlanders regions,

Read More »

Super Rugby's Pacific Reset

The push for a Pacific Island Super Rugby team has been decades in the making and finally, in February, it will come to fruition with not one but two new teams, Moana Pasifika and the Fijian Drua. After being awarded a conditional licence back in April …

Read More »